Centred around the Parish Church is a designated Conservation Area that seeks to protect an area of timber-framed houses, adding greatly to the character of the village. Within the Parish are over 90 timber-framed houses, all of which are listed. One of these is Cousens, a Grade II listed cottage, part of which dates back to 1580, built of red brick and grey headers, under a tiled roof.
Internally, the property retains many period features, including exposed wall and ceiling timbers. The sitting room, which has an inglenook fireplace, also has the original flagstone floor, as does the entrance hallway. The refurbished Mark Wilkinson kitchen is spacious, with a limestone floor. On the first floor, the master suite boasts a well-appointed bathroom and two walk-in wardrobes.
A gravelled drive leads to a parking and turning area in front of the double garage. From here, steps lead up to a path round the cottage to the front door. To the rear of the property is a generous, south/west facing, stone terrace. The gardens are mainly laid to lawn with extensive flower beds and herbaceous borders, bounded by hedging and trees. There is also a paddock and a number of outbuildings and sheds. The Sussex Border Path gives direct access to The Downs Link.
Photographs taken and details prepared September 2015.
Entrance hall, vaulted hall, sitting room, dining room, family room, conservatory, kitchen, 4/5 bedrooms, 4 bath/shower rooms (1 en suite), sauna, study, utility room, cellar. Double garage, outbuildings, gardens, paddock, in about 1.5 acres.View payable Stamp Duty for this property